London in the rain

by Renee

Yesterday, Sven and I decided to go to the capital for a change – we haven’t been there together for a day out for around five years! I only ever go to London for work these days. We had fun in spite of the downpour – after all, it wouldn’t be London without the rain.

After getting off the train at London Victoria, we took the tube to our first stop: the V&A Museum. Here, we went to see the fashion, Islamic art, photography and Renaissance exhibits…



We then had lunch at an Italian deli across the road. While waiting for the rain to ease, we stood under the deli’s awning and these cakes were on their window display…

Next stop was Charing Cross Road, and Charing Cross Road = BOOK SHOPS! We did our fair share of perusing books, maps and prints – old and new. And FOYLES! Mmmmm…


We also stopped at some music shops where I checked out the Grade 3 exam sheets for the ABRSM violin exams (yikes – it will deffo take me around a year to prepare…), while Sven looked at ukelele music. We then did a bit of retail therapy at MUJI. I feel a bit guilty for buying stuff these days as transition thoughts, questions and conscience start to creep in. But surely I’m allowed a few new things that I know I will use a LOT among the bits and pieces I’ve been acquiring/re-using from the charity shops? That’s a pretty good mix, non?

We then headed off home to lovely Hilltop. And I must say, the air was noticeably a lot fresher and cleaner. A big thank you for a wonderful day out, topped by a big purry welcome from Guin-pet-guin and the sweet feeling of being back home.

