Hello Winter!

by Renee

Not so very long ago I was posting about autumn, and now here’s winter! First couple of days of December = SNOW! And lots of it. It was lovely to be able to work from home today. We went for a walk around the village and it was so beautiful and quiet. Instead of the drone of cars from the roads and the A24, there was silence punctuated by laughter, kids squealing as they traipsed, slid and played in the snow, dogs barking happily. What a very welcome change indeed.

I heard on the news that Britain is losing around a billion pounds a day due to things grinding to halt in this weather. Wow. It’s amazing how so easily Mother Nature can bring us to our knees. This is only two days of heavy snow and already the fragility of our system and economy is made blatantly obvious. What happened to our resilience? Hmmm. All this beauty and quiet has made me pensive and introspective, thinking all these ‘transition thoughts’. I do like how nature can easily stop us in our tracks and catch our attention – what a wonderful display she puts on!

Speaking of reflection, I have signed up to Reverb10. I thought it would be a good idea to reflect on 2010 – it has been a year of growth and inwardness for me. I have a feeling 2011 will bring about some changes and hopefully, as always, wonderful blessings.

Before I go, I leave you with snowy wintry wonderlandy scenes here at Hilltop in Findon:


View from the front of our house


Our back garden


Front garden


Can you spot the cat who’s definitely got the right idea?

