Be the change

by Renee

I’ve been meaning to update and blog for ages, but time is just passing me by these days. There are so very many things I’d like to share and say!

However, here’s a quick one to tide things over…I am hoping to catch up on blogging very soon.

Yesterday, we went to Transition Town Worthing’s first ‘Be the Change’ symposium run by the TTW Heart and Soul group. It was a time for a lot of reflection and connection – a most powerful, moving, inspiring day.

For now, I’ll share with you one of the stories that truly resonated with me:

Once there was a Cherokee elder who was teaching his grandchildren about life. He drew the children around him one night as they sat by the campfire and looked around the circle and said, solemnly:

‘There is a fight going on inside me. It’s a terrible fight! And it’s between two wolves. One wolf represents fear, anger, envy, sorrow and resentment. The other wolf stands for joy, peace, love, hope and kindness. This fight is going on inside of you and every other person too.’

The children sat wide-eyed in silence for a moment. Then, one youngster asked, ‘But Grandfather, which wolf will win?’

The old Cherokee paused and looked into his grandchild’s eyes and replied:

‘The one that I feed.’

