A foray into baking

by Renee

Now that I am on mat leave, I am getting to rest and relax a bit more and try some new things (in spite of the fact that I do move more slowly and get tired a bit more easily).

My lovely colleagues gave me a beautiful book as one of my leaving presents: Peyton and Byrne: British Baking by Oliver Peyton. Cooking and baking have never been my forte – I much prefer eating and I am very good at that 🙂 However, I thought I’d give baking a whirl and let my domestic goddess (!) have a play.

Here are the results…not perfect at all by any means, but the finished product was pleasantly edible. Not bad for a first try…

Chocolate chip cookies + a nice cuppa tea = YUM!

Expert advice…

The equipment…

Before baking…

Cookies cooling…

Ready for chomping!

