Acceptance

by Renee

After much deliberation, I’ve decided that acceptance will be my word for the year.

At first, I thought it was a bit of a passive word. But thanks to my sister who said to me that it’s the total opposite – it is a word denoting a lot of strength.

I think this word will definitely be key for me this year as I work through my new role and assimilating it with the rest of me, which seems to be forgotten or in hiding at the moment.

I need to accept things as they are; to work with them and lean into them.
To accept (and expect) the best.
To accept all the gifts and blessings.
To accept others.
To accept myself.

With an open heart and mind.

In the Wikipedia definition of acceptance, it states that:

Anger is an emotion resulting from refusal to accept things as they are. Love, considered to be the opposite of anger, is said to be unconditional acceptance.

I like that.

So here’s to my word of the year.

