Simple things

by Renee

Today, some wooden toys I ordered from Etsy arrived for Bea. I wasn’t sure who was more excited – her or me. I love wooden toys – there’s something so sweet and comforting about their simplicity. We got the toys from Quality Montessori Supplies.

Bea loves the egg and cup. It feels good to be able to give her simple yet stimulating toys. There’s such a plethora of plastic toys and Bea really responds well to things that have different feels and textures – knitted toys, ribbons, wood etc.



I read an article in Juno, one of my favourite magazines, about providing children with a ‘treasure box’. This should include safe and stimulating items, made of natural materials. Wooden spoons, wool, things from the garden etc. What a lovely idea, eh? This is going to be one of my projects. So far, Bea has some wooden toys, a stuffed heart I’ve made and knitted, and she’s also been playing with some of my tension gauges from previous knitting projects.

Do let me know if you have any suggestions/ideas for Bea’s treasure box 🙂

