Casting on – new beginnings

by Renee

This weekend brought with it a number of new beginnings…

First, I officially resigned from my job as senior editor and told my work that I won’t be returning after my maternity leave. This is a big, bold step for me. I’ve always worked full-time and I’ve been in publishing for eleven years or so now. I will be doing editorial freelance work instead, so wish me luck on this new ‘office-less’ path! Hopefully, I’ll be able to do a bit of work while properly looking after Bea and spending time with her. I was sad to say good-bye to my lovely colleagues, some of whom have become very dear friends. They were all wonderful and very supportive of my decision.

Second, I went to yoga class on Saturday morning for the first time since Bea was born. It did me a world of good and Bea got to spend some time with her daddy. Sven insists that I go to yoga every Saturday and make this part of our routine. Isn’t he lovely? I am so blessed to have him as my special chum and partner/teammate. So here’s to the return of my regular yoga classes…

Third, I went to my favourite shop in Worthing – The Wool Bar – and treated myself to some yarn for a new project! Oh I love The Wool Bar. It just feels so positive and creative in there and the owner, Caroline, is always so helpful and lovely. So yes, after a long hiatus from knitting, I am back to casting on, knitting and purling…and it feels ever SO good to be making something again. Here’s what I’m working on…

Here’s to fresh new beginnings!

