Community

by Renee

This poster is on our vision board.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been feeling a bit ‘anti-social’. I’ve been more inward looking, relishing whatever tiny moments of quiet and solitude my days have to offer. My level of confidence is ever ebbing and flowing – there are good days and bad days. I guess my way of dealing with the not-so-good days at the moment is to ‘protect’ and cocoon myself from major social interactions. However, a part of me wonders if this is doing Bea any good.

Two things made me think that I should probably emerge from my cocoon and state of slight melancholy. First, my husband inspired me with his most recent blog post about community. His post relates to transition; this post comes more from a personal place. Second, I saw this retweet on my Twitter:

Yoga = Union. Be connected – isolation is sickness.

That really hit home with me.

And so I am endeavouring to take baby steps; to start reaching out again and do new and different things. Hopefully, I will find my community and tribe.

