Yarn Along: New project!

by Renee

I am happy to report that I have now finished the lacy scarf – it is now on its way to a, hopefully, happy and very lucky new owner! Remember what I said about the ‘uniqueness’ and quirkiness in its design? Happily, Bea seems to like it too.

Yay! I am finally getting stuck into my new project. I am making a hooded kaftan for Bea using my left over stash of Debbie Bliss Eco Yarns and a Debbie Bliss pattern. I am doing the 24-36 months old size for a couple of reasons:

a) I knit tightly

b) I don’t know how long it will take me to finish this project…hopefully not too long, but I’d like it to fit Bea before she completely outgrows it!

I am starting with the sleeves first. The pattern calls for a single colour, but as I have a lot of yarn left, I am doing the sleeves in solid pink, the front and back part in stripes, and the hood in…well, we’ll see what combination I’ve got left at that point. This is one of the many things I love about crafting – the randomness yet the ‘rightness’ of the things created. Really, there are no mistakes.

I decided to pick up where I left off with Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now. It’s a very good read – something that I really need these days. I was reading it before my Simplicity Parenting ecourse started. I find that when I read non-fiction, reference-type books, I need to alternate between two or three so that things don’t get too heavy.

Looking forward to seeing what everyone else is knitting and reading.

