Yoga along?

by Renee

Recently, I lost my temper with Bea. It was a challenging day and I was very tired. Bea was feeling off, too. As soon as I let fly, I felt instant guilt. I felt so bad. Bea knew I was not happy. To this day, I carry the guilt and I know that Bea has totally forgotten about it. I am usually a very patient person, but motherhood takes me to deeper, farther and further places. It makes me dig deep.

I am not usually one to lose my temper; I wasn’t happy with this at all so I knew that I to do something. The happy silver lining of this event? I started doing yoga again. In fact, I’ve been doing yoga daily ever since that fateful day, and I am so grateful for this. Perhaps blowing my top needed to happen so that I can find my way back to my yoga again. Even if it’s just ten or fifteen minutes a day; sometimes just two or three rounds of Salutation to the Sun. It’s a far cry from what my daily practice used to be, but it’s much better than nothing.

This whole thing reminds me to be kinder and gentler to myself; to be more forgiving of myself, too.

On a slightly separate (but connected) note, I find that joining Yarn Along has given me so much. It has made me get back to my knitting (which helps ground and relax me, just like my yoga) and progress with my creative projects. As well, it has gifted me with a community of beautiful and creative women. I am extremely grateful for this.

So…does anyone know of something similar for yoga? Like some sort of friendly, supportive and accessible ‘Yoga Along’ community? I am hoping it will help me get back into my yoga practice, just like Yarn Along has totally put me back on track with my knitting. My sister suggested that I start a yoga along of my own, but I don’t think I am brave enough (or qualified enough) yet to do this. I still intend to continue with my yoga teacher training when the time is right, and I am sure something like this will help me loads.

Any suggestions most welcome 🙂

