Small steps; small bites

by Renee

These are the delicious parmesan and quinoa bites we made today (recipe from my Whole Food Kitchen ecourse). Everyone gave it a thumbs up, including Bea.

The past few weeks of being immersed in the Whole Food Kitchen ecourse has further changed the way I see, treat and appreciate food. I’ve always loved food, but now I love it even more.

Here are some of the things I’ve learned and/or put into practice so far:

= I’ve been cooking more and really enjoying it.
= My attitude towards cooking and preparing meals has changed and shifted – I am now starting to see meal preparation more as an ‘offering’ rather than simply a chore I have to do, going through the motions. This feels very positive and truly uplifting. Cooking is becoming almost meditative for me – it helps me focus on the now.
= It is empowering to know that I am doing my best to feed my family, while at the same time sourcing good food as best as possible.
= I am becoming more aware of what I eat, especially in front of Bea. She always wants to have what I am eating! This makes me opt for healthier choices.
= Meal plans – I’ve always wanted to implement this and now I finally have! My control-freaky, organized self is really enjoying this step. We waste less food; we are less stressed; we save more time and money. Why didn’t I do this before?

There are two weeks left on the course and I really don’t want it to end. There’s so much to learn and so much to put into practice. Very exciting! The following are two key things I’d really like do (I am putting it here so that I have it on record and make myself accountable)…

= Start having our dinner meals together (right now Bea has hers before mine and Sven’s)
= Focus on growing some veggies, herbs and fruit in our garden next year

Small steps…one bite at a time…

