Connections

by Renee

Connections_Apr2013

There were so very many special moments and highlights during our recent trip to Canada.  Some wonderful and beautiful connections were made. I so enjoyed watching Bea interact with and relate to every single member of my family. She had a ‘special something’ that she would do only with my mom, or my dad, or with each of my sisters. I loved watching these beautiful relationships unfold before me. We all felt so blessed.

I, too, made a very special connection during this trip. I finally met up with Kim – my ‘gratitude buddy’. She lives in Canada, not far from where my parents live. It all started when I saw this post from another blog I follow. At that point, I’d already emailed and commented on Kim’s blog a few times, and I found her really inspiring. We shared the same values. Here is a person I knew I wanted to be my friend. As well, I really wanted to continue cultivating an ‘attitude of gratitude’ – so I followed my instincts. Why not ask Kim to be my gratitude buddy? Thankfully, she agreed!

We arranged to meet up for lunch while I was in Canada. I thought I would be nervous, but I wasn’t at all. Just relaxed and very excited! As soon as I saw Kim I gave her a big, long  hug. We chatted happily and easily. Her thoughtfulness, genuineness and generosity really touched me. It all felt so natural, like we’ve known each other for so long and had been dear friends for ages. She was just how I imagined she would be – warm, thoughtful and so very lovely. I’ve learned so much from Kim, and I am sure I will continue to do so. We had so much to talk about and say, but we did not have much time…so we will just have to do it again sometime very soon. I have no doubt that our friendship will continue to grow and flourish.

In the meantime, we have our gratitude lists. To this day, we email each other daily and her emails are one of the things I look forward to in my day. It’s amazing to think I found a gratitude buddy through the blog community; and this same deep gratitude has given me something new to be grateful for: a dear friend and kindred spirit. Thank you so much, Kim!

There are so many blessings. Life is good.

