A new season, a new chapter

by Renee

40_2

Hello!

It was good to have a mini break from here; but it also feels great to be back.

Autumn is in the air. The cusp between late summer and early autumn means my birthday is here. And this year, I am 40. The past weekend was the last one of my 30s.

There have been a lot of changes and milestones here the past month. Here are some highlights:

= Bea turned two, which means I have now been a mom for two years. Wow. I am so grateful to be on this beautiful journey, which teaches me something every single day.

= Bea has self-weaned from breastfeeding. So bittersweet. So many adjustments and transitions.

= To mark the arrival of my 40th birthday and the coming decade, I have had my hair chopped off and it feels really good. Here’s a little preview:

40_1

= Bea seems to have  all of a sudden and overnight grown from a baby to a full-on chatty little girl with very strong opinions about everything!

Also, as a very big birthday gift to myself, I have decided to resume my yoga teacher training. I thought this would be a good time to share this step here. I am making myself accountable as I manifest more dreams. Yes, I have taken the plunge – it is real!

I will be doing my classes here. I am so very excited about this. This is one of the main reasons why I have been a bit quiet on this space. I’ve been working very hard (here’s my freelancing alter ego) to save up for this course, and will continue to do so for a while.

So…mothering, running a home, doing freelance work and training to be a yoga teacher on top of many other things. I will have my plate full. But I am so grateful that my plate is full of the things I love to do. I’ll have to make sure to include some side dishes of self-care, knitting, creating and blogging to this full plate somehow 🙂

I am in a very pensive, introspective, calm and contemplative mood. My 30s were great, but I am ready for this new slate and fresh beginning. I feel like leaving behind some things that truly no longer work for me or serve me (perhaps my hair cut is more symbolic than I originally thought). I think this decade is going to be good. No, let’s rephrase that. I’m going to make it good. The best so far. Hopefully.

