Make and Listen Along

by Renee

Finally! I am able to write a blog post and join Dawn once again on her Make and Listen Along Thursdays. Hurrah!

Finally! I am happy to announce that the kaftan for Bea is done! Phew. Nevermind that it took me a year of knitting on-and-off to finish it πŸ™‚

Drum roll, please…

M&L_25Sep13_1 M&L_25Sep13_2

It is by no means perfect. My sewing together of knitted pieces leaves a lot to be desired – I need to practice this skill. So please don’t look too closely (haha!) and remember that every stitch is made with lots of love πŸ™‚

I’m just so pleased that it fits Bea and that she likes it!

It’s been so very busy over here. Constantly changing and evolving toddler routines/demands, running Hilltop and doing freelance work are all making it very challenging for me to be here on this much-missed space and find time for, well, ‘me stuff’. So I guess one of the things I am trying to do is ‘make time’ for myself, for rest, for creation and for fun (doesn’t usually happen, but I keep trying).

It was also Steve’s birthday yesterday so we made cupcakes and new memories πŸ™‚

M&L_25Sep13_3

On the listening front: Bea and I have been singing along to a playlist I made of some female artists – from Carly Simon to the Bangles to Sarah McLachlan to KT Tunstall to Stevie Nicks to Madonna to Holly Cole to No Doubt among others…Bea seems to like it and she repeats lyrics she can pick up and understand. A reminder to watch the things we listen to and the things I say!

I’ve also managed to pick up where I left off on my audio book – Around the World in 80 Days with Michael Palin. It’s making me think of the time I was living and teaching in Japan. Gosh, was that really over a decade ago now?!

Glad to be participating this week. I look forward to seeing what everyone has been up to.

